Correspondence of grognard Jean-Henry Rattier (I) …

The author of these letters, Jean-Henry Rattier, was born in Val-Chambre (Ardèche) on 1 June 1775, the fifth child of a farmer whose four other sons served in the French army during the campaigns of the Revolution. Henry Rattier, employed as a miller in a silk factory in Privas, joined the National Guard when he was very young. He obtained the rank of lieutenant, whereupon he took part in the siege of Lyon. When the law was passed abolishing the positions of officers and non-commissioned officers eligible for incorporation, he was transferred on 28 Thermidor Year II as a corporal in the 2nd Company of the 3rd Battalion of the Côtes-Maritimes (Army of the Eastern Pyrenees). A certificate signed by the members of the battalion’s board of directors, dated 28 Messidor Year III, attested to his ‘subordination, bravery and diligence in service’ and recommended him for a higher rank. This document was countersigned by the deputies of the Ardèche, who recommended ‘this young soldier for promotion to their colleagues on the Committee of Public Safety. He is all the more entitled to this as he is the fifth son of citizen Louis Rattier, all who had committed themselves to the defence of the fatherland, and as the eldest son, a captain in the brave battalion of grenadiers from the Ardèche forming part of the garrison of Mainz, had perished gloriously at his post’.

Our officer served during the First Italian Campaign in the 51st Demi-Brigade, and then found himself fighting the Russians and the British at Castricum. Rattier was appointed sergeant on 6 Pluviôse Year III; sergeant-major on 9 Vendémiaire Year IV; adjudant non-commissioned officer on 11 Nivôse Year VI; second lieutenant on 1 Fructidor of the same year. With the same rank, he joined the Foot Chasseurs of the Consular Guard on 26 Messidor Year XI; he was made a member of the Legion of Honour on 25 Prairial Year XII; lieutenant second class on 5 Nivôse of the same year; lieutenant first class on 27 Frimaire Year XIV. On 5 April 1809, he was appointed captain-adjudant-major in the 1st Regiment of Conscripts-Chasseurs of the Imperial Guard, then captain in the Regiment of Tirailleurs-Chasseurs on 29 May 1809. On 15 March 1810, he was made a Knight of the Empire. On 17 September 1811, he became captain-adjutant-major of the 1st Regiment of Voltigeurs (of the Imperial Guard). Wounded on 17 November 1812 at the battle of Krasnoi, he passed away on 16 February 1813 in a thatched cottage just a few leagues from Smolensk.

The letters were addressed to his father, Mr. Rattier, at Bac near Vernoux:

Paris, 28 August 1808.

The Emperor is absolutely slumbering over our promotions. Since Austerlitz, there has been no advancement among the adjutants-majors and assistant adjutants-majors. A few captains’ posts, left vacant by promotion to senior commanders, have been given to captains from the line. We still have two of them waiting; it is ‘incredible’!

Several days ago, His Majesty ordered his Guard to be ready to depart, with the result that we are awaiting the order to march on the first day, but we do not know for which country. The day before yesterday, I received the order to leave immediately for Compiègne with all the convalescents to go and perform service for the old King of Spain. Having pondered over the matter, I got dressed straight away and went to ask the general to allow me to follow the corps to the army, as my last ailment was about to be treated; he agreed to this. I would much rather have gone to Compiègne than to set off, but I believe that would have been detrimental to my advancement.

I will be busy buying a horse. This campaign will cost me a lot of money, but with some discipline I will get by.

Many troops are marching to Spain, where our brave men have suffered. I do not know if we are heading in that direction, but there is reason to believe that we will be heading towards Germany, where a congress may be held between the Emperors, or due to war with Austria …

***

Paris, 3 October 1808.

We are still enjoying peace and quiet in our quarters, and it is even possible that we will not leave them this winter. However, we are ready to march whenever we want.

I have a beautiful, decent mare which cost me twenty louis, and at the moment I am being furnished with harness gear amounting to 225 francs, ordered by the commanders, which is a considerable expense for us. The cost of a possible departure is at least fifty louis: the reserve small purse is very useful in such a situation …

Today, I have been invited to dinner by a friend of mine, who was made lieutenant-colonel in the regiment yesterday; he also used to serve in the 51st (Regiment), which delighted me greatly. Our generals, Misters Curial and Gros, and General Soulès will be there, as well as a section of our general staff.

There is a battalion of grenadiers at Erfurt, where the Emperors Napoleon and Alexander are at present. The Army of Spain is being considerably reinforced and will soon be marching forward. We would very much like to confront the English. General Junot … (corner of the document is torn) in Portugal, although he is obstructed on all (sides); he will maintain himself, it is said, until the arrival of (reinforcements) which will reach him when the troops … occupying the central provinces have been vanquished, which will not take long.

***

Paris, 6 February 1809.

… His Majesty conducted an inspection of us in front of his palace on 29 January. He was very pleased with the training of our conscripts; so pleased indeed that he abolished our 2nd Regiment of Chasseurs, and replaced it by the formation of a Regiment of Tirailleurs, composed of these young men. They will only receive line pay; we officers will retain our rank in the Guard and our same emoluments.

This is our reward after working well throughout the winter! Instead of advancement, we are downgraded, if not in rank, at least for the corps. The Emperor wants us to drill, since we are such good instructors, five thousand conscripts of the year 1810. The grenadiers, who are subject to the same adjustment, will also be assigned 5,000 men. This upsets us to no end, as we do not really have any idea how we are going to get out of this predicament. Patientia (Patience)!

We still do not know whether the Guard has left Valladolid. When they arrive, our regiment of tirailleurs will set off for the provinces, but I do not know exactly where. If it were a decent garrison, we would miss Paris less. The Emperor has given no attention to us as far as promotion is concerned. Our corps will be named the Tirailleurs-Chasseurs of the Guard; it will be administered by the chasseurs, and promotion will be shared between the three regiments: chasseurs, fusilliers and tirailleurs.

General Rampon has bought a very beautiful house in the rue de Varennes, to the right of the Hôtel des Invalides; it is the street closest to here, apart from those on the Gros-Caillou. It cost him one hundred and forty thousand livres to purchase it, and forty thousand is needed for repairs …

***

Paris, 25 February 1809.

According to a letter from my brother Saint-Laurent, which I received yesterday, he has kept an account for me for the sum of 400 livres until the end of next March. I thank you very much for agreeing to treat me like your other children outside my family’s home. As I will be old very soon, according to the ailments I have suffered over the last fifteen years, this will serve to increase the small savings I am trying to accumulate to alleviate my old age and treat my discomfort, which is felt very early on. I can only regard my condition as precarious. A new campaign may put me in a position to retire immediately, which, with my rank, and even that of captain, would be quite modest …

I am pleased with how this winter is progressing; my health is good and my vision is fine. The sun and the bright light bother my eyes, although I hope the weather will sort things out, or I will soon be on canned food, which I refuse to do as long as I am in the military …

***

Versailles, 15 March 1809.

We have been in this city since the 1st of the month to admit and instruct 5,000 conscripts of the year 1810. In my case, 1,400 arrived this morning. I foresee the impossibility of us getting out of trouble honourably when all are here, having with us only two thirds of the officers and non-commissioned officers of our regiment, the others being in Paris with our regiment of tirailleurs, as well as 1,000 conscripts who are still remaining from the last four years.

It is difficult to understand why His Majesty demands so much of us, without granting us any benefits, and after having abolished our regiment of chasseurs. Everyone is extremely displeased, and they no longer hesitate to say so, because, after all, we are not [derogatory term for black people]!

On top of this additional burden, my pay is reduced by twenty-five francs a month. I declare that, if I continue the service, it is because I cannot do any better, otherwise I would thank them and get the hell out of here. I am on foot all day and part of the night, and every moment I see my suffering increase and my pay decrease, and promotion is reserved for officers who come to us from the line! Our leaders, who receive estates or gratuities from time to time, are happy with their lot and care very little about ours; they say, like General Rampon, that you must always be pleased with what you are and never complain. Only they should be allowed to do that, because anyone who is only a baron would want to be a count! I laugh a bit at all this, but I sometimes fume with anger that we are treated this way!

The three or four hundred chasseurs we have in Paris are leaving tomorrow or the day after for the army. Our tirailleurs are being dressed as light infantry, and as soon as that is done, we will follow … I have a fairly good servant. I’d like to leave tomorrow, to be rid of this cursed instruction which is making us lose our heads. We wear the uniform of the tirailleurs, and at the moment I am having my clothes sorted out: that is another expense. I am about to turn my bearskin hat into bag covers that I will fit over the pistol stocks: that is ‘the way to get the trickery started’ …

The (Imperial) Guard left Spain with the exception of one company per corps. We do not know where they are heading. The officers and non-commissioned officers of one battalion are on their way here. The air in Versailles is very good, and I have a ravenous appetite. We enjoy a very good dinner for sixty francs a month, served in the grand style. We have subscriptions to the theatre, which only performs twice a week …

Although war with Austria seems to be on the horizon, it is possible that we will stand in its way. In any case, we have nothing to fear from this country, and if war breaks out, we will conquer it without question. With my good horse, I will go as far as Tokaj, in Hungary, to drink its excellent wine …

***

Paris, 10 April 1809.

We left Versailles on the 3rd at four o’clock in the morning, and, after having been inspected in Paris by Marshal Bessières and having received various effects of clothing, we set off again at midday alongside the regiment of tirailleurs, to move towards Strasbourg, having still ten post leagues to cover to arrive at the first lodging.

The column was supposed to head for the post, and for this reason we had all our servants and horses leave on 22 March; but there was a counter-order, and everything was done on foot. On the evening of the 6th, I had passed the regiment by three stages, going forward to direct the lodgings and supplies. On the morning of the 7th, at Vitry-le-Français, I received my appointment as captain in one of the two regiments of conscripts that were being re-formed for the (Imperial) Guard. I returned at once, and, after having joined the regiment, I took my portemanteau, and headed again for the capital, where I arrived yesterday evening. This morning I paid a visit to the general, who told me that he had recommended me for the position of captain-adjutant-major, but that His Majesty reserved these posts for the line. I am very pleased with this, preferring to command a company than to be so bedeviled …

My servant is due to arrive in Strasbourg, and he will either be assigned to a tirailleur officer, or will join me. It is at his discretion. My horse will be bought by an adjutant-major of this regiment for twenty-five louis, which is what it cost me saddled. I will be responsible for the expenses of the journey.

The Fusilliers of the Guard arrived from Spain yesterday, and the Chasseurs are expected tomorrow. The cavalry is also arriving successively. The Polish Chevau-légers, also of the Guard, one of the finest formations, are on their way to Strasbourg.

Another 5,000 conscripts from the year 1810 are to be assigned to us for training, which will make three quarters of us lose our minds. In truth, His Majesty no longer considers this, and is wearing out our instructors! The quartermasters, captains in charge of clothing and our commanders do not know where they stand any more. I, who am taking up a captain’s position, will proceed more slowly than ever, while doing my job, and when they are not pleased, let them grant me a share of my retirement! That is all I am asking for, to let my ‘carcass’ rest in peace.

If we are going to join the army, it will only be late, because our regiments need to be trained and organised … The uniform of the tirailleurs is similar to that of the light infantry, albeit with white trousers and red lining, and I had a similar uniform made, which today is useless, since the officers keep theirs as it is: it is the Emperor’s order …

I travelled a hundred leagues in seven days, in a cart, via side roads and all this at my own expense. This is a great injustice, but let us be patient!

***

Paris, 9 May 1809.

I inform you that our regiment leaves tomorrow morning for Metz. This departure pleases me in a way, in that our service here is very arduous on account of the exercises which have not given us a moment’s rest. These young men are causing us a lot of trouble.

My servant, who has returned from Strasbourg, will stay with me, and I am looking for a horse to carry me. I want to make myself comfortable. As long as my pay is sufficient, that is all I need.

***

Camp of Helzindorf, below Schönbrunn, 6 September 1809.

We are still bored in our barracks, despite constant movement for firing exercises with blanks, parades, inspections and so on. Far too much is demanded of our young men, and we are unfortunate to welcome only new soldiers as lieutenants, non-commissioned officers and privates.

I only have a very small number of Frenchmen in my company; the fifty Flemish who are there are men I cannot rely on at all; never have I encountered such scoundrels! The Piedmontese are not much better; I am a little more pleased with the Alsatians, but it is still a real challenge to make them understand me, especially during the drill. I have to be schoolmaster, valet and sentry almost day and night, dealing with matters of policing and discipline, and keeping an eye on the thefts that occur all the time. For example, the men in my company who stood guard today, in the camp only, one of them lost his ramrod, another had his bag almost emptied (they have it with them at the post), and a third had a black silk tie taken from his neck while he was asleep. I gave it to him four days ago. These sorts of things happen every day, despite all the care we devote to prevent it! I dare say that our service is diabolical!

Of the 203 men I had when we left Paris, I only have 115 left in the camp. The others are in hospitals or at the depot. A dozen are dead, and two were killed on the 6th, one of whom served in the artillery of the Guard, to which we had provided a detachment to assist in manning the guns, as half of the artillerymen were out of action, and the second was killed in the evening in the ranks by a clumsy fellow. I almost fell victim to this accident, and my favourite soldier, a charming young man, fell beside me. I could not help myself from crying. Another soldier was killed in the regiment that same evening in the same way …

I abhor the way war is waged at present; my heart finds it very hard to bear the sight of it. If, after this campaign, I were obliged to go elsewhere to carry on serving, I would perhaps be compelled to retire in order to put an end to my suffering, which is more of a moral than a physical nature.

Source : Notes d’un sergent-major, in La Revue rétrospective, 1 April 1894, Paris, pp. 274-283.

Other accounts to read:

> Two letters on the battle of Austerlitz …
> Correspondence of a hussar officer, 1807-1809 …
> Second Lieutenant Madelin and the 1813 campaign …

2 responses to “Correspondence of grognard Jean-Henry Rattier (I) …”

  1. Definitely a different perspective on life in the Imperial guard!

    Like

    1. Indeed! Rattier seemed to be spent and looking for peace. He would end up serving a tad longer still, until he perished in Russia. Working on the next set of letters this week!

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started