Some correspondence related to the campaign in Austria, 1809 …

Lieutenant Augustin Le Pelletier de Voillemont, born on 27 March 1785 in Paris, who served in the 19th Infantry Regiment (composed of three battalions) led by Colonel Aubry (part of General Dupas’ Division, with Bernadotte as commander of IX Corps), wrote the following missives, full of details on the engagements he was involved in, as well as on what transpired once the hostilities ceased …

At the camp outside Znaym [sic], 22 August 1809. (Letter received 5 September 1809.)

There is no doubt that any judgement you may have made against your good brother will have been dashed when you receive the letter from my good friend Deu, telling you of the misfortune I suffered on 5 July [the battle of Wagram], the most magnificent and memorable day a soldier could witness.

After spending fourteen hours under cannonballs and canister fire and standing under a barrage of bullets, having received four of them in my uniform without being wounded, apart from a slight bruise to the foot which I could hardly feel, we were given the order to seize a very well-fortified position where the enemy was waiting for us on firm footing; however, the impetuosity of the French spirit and the love for the Hero who commanded us soon enabled us to seize this splendid position. Unfortunately, mist came in and the enemy took advantage of it to launch a cavalry charge.

As there were several detachments of us in front, deployed as skirmishers, we got entangled with the enemy and it was barely possible to distinguish one from the other; we were fighting with the cold steel. A cavalryman charged at me and I fought with him for a good quarter of an hour. Just when I thought I had got rid of him, four others arrived: one of them struck me with his sabre, cutting off a corner of my hat. The chest of his horse knocked me to the ground, and I was forced to succumb and surrender myself into the hands of the most ruthless of enemies. After stealing forty-two louis and a few billets from me, they also took my epaulettes, and even went so far as to see whether my boots would be of any use to them, but fortunately their feet were too big.

Subsequently, they had us force march without providing us with any means of subsistence; for a month I remained at their mercy, receiving only sixteen florins, which is sixteen francs at the price we are reimbursed here from our wages. You can imagine the situation I found myself in; yes, I assure you, I would rather have been wounded!

I would need a handful of paper to recount it all to you; I am very grateful that I did not remain a prisoner any longer, and I was very pleased to return to my regiment. My colonel received me with open arms, as did all my comrades: they expressed to me all the sorrow they had felt for us, because I should mention that my second lieutenant was with me, as well as two other officers. Even my brave grenadiers came up to me to embrace me; I couldn’t help but weep, the poor devils were few in number. I lost two of my good friends; fortunately, Deu managed to pull through. Would you believe that we lost thirty-eight officers, ten of whom were killed and the others wounded and made prisoners. My predicament was all the more detrimental in that I was considered to have been injured: this is what prevented me from becoming a captain; those who are absent are always in the wrong.

As we are still short of one captain, my colonel has promised to recommend me soon. The most important thing is that I am doing very well at the moment.

… Marshal Masséna’s Corps, General Legrand’s 1st Division [the 19th Infantry Regiment was transferred to this division in the aftermath of Wagram].

***

Vienna, (this) 24 October 1809.

I am only writing to you to inform you that having been sent here by my colonel for the affairs of the regiment, I decided to present myself to Mr. Daru, the Intendant General of the army, about an hour ago, who received me very well, telling me that that very evening he would meet with the Prince of Neufchatel and Wagram [Marshal Berthier], and that he would do his utmost to have me confirmed in the rank of captain, which request had been conveyed to His Highness on the 12th of this month in a letter of proposition written by my colonel.

I was the bearer, for Mr. Intendant General Daru, of a letter from my colonel, which read: ‘I implore you, Mr. Intendant General, to kindly take an interest in favour of Mr. Le Pelletier, lieutenant, who demonstrated, during the affair of 5 July last, an extraordinarily courageous conduct, by throwing himself into the midst of the enemy with the company which he commanded. Unfortunately, as his strength proved insufficient, the enemy captured him, and this is the reason for the delay in his promotion’.

Not having been able to meet Mr. Inspector Daru (again) as he had departed for Paris four days ago, I would kindly request that you write to the Intendant, his brother, so that he does not forget about me; my letter of proposition was drawn up as a replacement for Captain Laffite, who passed away at Vienna and was drawn up by the staff of IV Corps on the 12th of this month …

***

Mühldorf, three leagues from Krems, 23 November 1809.

You have told me, my dear sister, how much you would like to see me. Alas! I assure you that I wish for that every day. It will be three and a half years ago on the 27th of this month that we returned to France, which is a very long time.

I have made up my mind to join the Guard as a first lieutenant, a rank I have held for fourteen months. If you can obtain it, in fact, I would have just as many advantages, since I am then considered as a captain of the line; and then, when one possesses good conduct, you can make your way everywhere and even more swiftly in the Guard, since you are always under the eyes of the Emperor. I am sending you a note which will be useful in this respect.

I cannot tell you anything agreeable about the ‘pleasures’ I am experiencing here; we are confined to a poor village surrounded by mountains, and wherever you turn, all you can see is snow. Fortunately I can count on my commanding officer, who is staying half a league away from me; he is a remarkable man in every way, in terms of his bravery and kindness. Every afternoon I visit him for picket duty. I have dinner with him and then, at eleven o’clock, I head back to my cottage. Half the time I also dine with him, which is pleasant because I feel rather unwell at my (own) lodgings.

This is my life at the moment, however I hope that by the 20th of next month it will change …

***

Guillaume Martin, born at Trouville (Eure) on 12 January 1770, volunteered to serve in 1792. A student second lieutenant at the Ecole de Châlons, our young lieutenant joined the 8th Artillery Regiment to which he was assigned in Italy. Awarded the Légion d’Honneur on 3 Thermidor Year 12, and made captain in the 5th Regiment, Martin finally joined the artillery of the Imperial Guard.

Captain Martin was ‘an officer of profound merit’, wrote General Baron Boulart in his Memoirs, recalling the officer he had witnessed being killed at Wagram.

Before his life was cut short, Martin recounted to his friend Mabru in a few letters the many changes his unit and the Imperial Guard went through in terms of clothing, promotions, war preparations etc., … :

To Mr. Mabru, captain of artillery in the Imperial Guard, rue des Poulies St-Honoré n° 2, Paris.

Ulm, 14 May 1809.

I expected to hear from you in Strasbourg, my dear Mabru; I departed without having had this satisfaction. I hope you will compensate me later.

We are moving as quickly as possible to join the army, whose successes are outpacing our progress, and we very much regret not having been able to take part in the brilliant affairs that have already taken place and whose wonderful results you are no doubt aware of.

… Mr. Cherrier has not sent to Strasbourg, as he had promised, the clothing I had ordered from him when I was in Paris. This circumstance obliges me to have them made en route. Consequently, I would ask you to inform him that I am leaving on his behalf those items that he did not send me at the time and which I cannot hope to receive. It is very unpleasant to be served in this manner. If I could have foreseen this, I would have made up for it at Strasbourg during our stay there.

General Lariboisière and Colonel Drouot have just gained the lead in the advance; they are on their way to the Emperor. Lallemand is temporarily in command of the division. We are well armed and fairly well mounted on train horses.

Le Clerc stayed in Strasbourg for a few more days with the reserve, which did not have enough horses to commence its march. He must now be on the move. Perhaps he will bring us the eighty pairs of gaiters that Le Guerney was supposed to send to Strasbourg and which had not arrived when we left.

Farewell, my dear Mabru, always take care and trust in your comrade’s affection and friendship.

G. MARTIN.

P. S. – My sheet of paper turned around in such a way that I ended up writing on the reverse side where I should have started. People can get careless at any age.

***

Stamp P. P. N° 5

OBSERVATION ARMY OF THE RHINE

To Mister Mabru, captain of artillery in the Imperial Guard, rue des Poulies, St-Honoré, n° 2, in Paris.

On the back: to La Fère.

Vienna, 28 June 1809.

I have received, my dear Mabru, from Mr. Marin, the tail coat and trousers that you were kind enough to send me, along with other items for misters Boulart and Aubert. I was no longer relying on these items, as Mr. Cherrier had not sent them to me in Strasbourg when I was there, as he had promised to do. Whatever the case, I am keeping them and thank you very much for the trouble you took to send them to me. I will keep a proper account of all your expenses for the buttons and postage costs.

The tail coat will no longer be part of the uniform of the Guard artillery. The colonel has decided on this and has explained himself clearly in this respect. However, he allows men who have had them made to wear them during the campaign.

As for the longcoat that Cherrier was to supply me with, I will still be obliged to receive it, if you have sent it to me. However, if it has not yet been made, I would ask you to leave it for him. I have had two others prepared since I no longer counted on the ones he was supposed to send me to Strasbourg.

There have been great changes made in our artillery for some time. First of all, you will be aware that we are going to form three new companies of foot artillery, along with conscripts to be assigned to the Fusilliers and Voltigeurs of the Guard. The officers who will command these companies have already been appointed: they are misters Schoulz, Fourcq and Le Vaillant. La Guelte was also made captain second class in one of these companies. I can’t remember the names of the other officers. I think the lieutenants were selected from the line [troops]. Several other lieutenants were also called up from the line to fill our ranks. Misters Lallemand (1) and Pommereul (2) have been appointed battalion commanders of the Guard, which means that there are still vacant positions [left] for captains. Pion will replace Lallemand in the 3rd [Artillery Regiment], and Boisselier (3), Pommereul in the Horse Artillery.

The Landwehr companies (as we designate them) are to be formed at Strasbourg and the appointed officers will therefore have to proceed thither, although the Emperor has decided that they will not depart until after the battle; a battalion commander (I believe it will be Lallemand) will also head there to preside over the organisation.

Three weeks ago we requested the officer’s cross [of the Legion of Honour] for our comrade Bizard who, as you will no doubt have heard, had his left arm severed in the battle of 22 May [Aspern-Essling]. We do not know why this appeal has not yet been answered. Misters Drouot, Marin, Greiner and Sandras were on the same list for the same purpose. During a review that we passed a few days after our arrival, the Emperor had awarded the ordinary cross to all the wounded gunners of the 5th (Regiment); they have not yet received their certificates.

As a matter of fact, Bizard is doing very well: his arm has almost completely healed. Le Bel (4), who you may be acquainted with, is staying in the same room as him, although with one thigh missing; Le Bel is also doing fairly well. He was made a battalion commander during the early affairs [of the campaign].

Lastly, numerous promotions were granted in the line artillery: at least ten new battalion commanders and colonels were appointed in proportion, which makes Cottin and myself think that circumstances have not been favourable to us. However, I have just been definitively appointed captain in command of the 1st Company; so although we are a long way apart, we are close to each other in the register(s).

It’s a significant step forward, I hope! Who can reckon how far it will take us? Guduld, Guduld ! (Patience, patience !)

A thousand heartfelt acknowledgements: 1) for the trouble you took to have the funds you received for me from General [Louis Joseph Auguste Gabriel Saint-Laurent] to be kept at Rouen; 2) for the arrangements you kindly made with Mr. Doffimont concerning my trunks [luggage]; 3) lastly for the care you were willing to take to have me reminded of the sums due to me according to my old paybook, which had remained with the papers of the quartermaster.

I embrace you and love you with all my heart, Leben sie Wohl (live well),

G. MARTIN.

My regards to Pion if he has not left departed, and to the philosopher Servois, whose kind children always inquire about me.

We hope to provide you soon with news of the army, which is faring very well.

To Mister Mabru, captain in charge of clothing for the Imperial Guard, at La Fère, in the Aisne Department.

Notes

(1) Charles-François-Antoine Lallemand, Baron of the Empire, general of division. Born in Metz on 27 June 1774, passed away in Paris on 20 February 1851.

(2) A ‘strange, morose, witty and amusing storyteller’, according to General Boulart. Retired maréchal de camp in 1827. Born at Fougères on 14 May 1774 and passed away at the Château de Marigny (Ille-et-Vilaine) on 30 August 1860. Gilbert-Anne François Zephyrin was the eldest son of Baron of the Empire François-Rene-Jean de Pommereul, general of division in 1796, then prefect and State Councillor.

(3) At the battle of Wagram, this energetic officer was overheard uttering: ‘Hurry up, gunners, the sooner we get this over with, the sooner we are done’. Boisselier passed away at Rheims from wounds suffered on 3 March 1814. Consult A. Martinien’s, Tableaux, par corps et par batailles, des officiers tués et blessés pendant les guerres de l’Empire, H. Charles-Lavauzelle, Paris, 1899, p. 107.

(4) Jean-Baptiste Le Bel, Baron of the Empire, retired lieutenant-colonel, born at la Meuse in 1771. Passed away in Strasbourg on 29 July 1829.

Source : La Giberne – Publication mensuelle illustrée … , n° 1, February 1899, Paris, pp. 249-252 and 299-302.

Other accounts to read:

> Report of a cavalry NCO, 1809 …
> Soldiers’ letters related to the campaign in Austria, 1809 …
> Impressions on the battle of Wagram and its casualties …

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started